Norfolk County Council

Date: Monday 20 July 2020

Time: 10.00 a.m

Venue: Teams Meeting – <u>Click here to view the meeting</u>.

Supplementary Agenda

13 Appointments to Committees and Joint Committees Page A2 2020/21

Report by the Executive Director of Strategy & Governance.

Tom McCabe Head of Paid Service County Hall Martineau Lane Norwich NR1 2DH

Date Agenda Published: 17 July 2020

For further details and general enquiries about this Agenda please contact committees@norfolk.gov.uk

Norfolk County Council 20 July 2020 Item No. 13

APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES AND JOINT COMMITTEES 2020/21

Council is required to confirm the membership of committee, joint committees, etc membership for 2020/21. This can only be completed once the main committee political group allocations have been agreed by council

Group Leaders have been asked to identify their group representatives on the committees.

Recommendation

- 1. To approve the memberships proposed by the Group Leaders
- 2. To appoint 1 of the 2 representatives on the ESPO Management Committee to also be on ESPO's Finance and Audit Committee and 1 of the 2 representatives to be the Shareholder representative on the Shareholder Board.

Committee Membership 2020/21

Scrutiny Committee - 13 Members plus 2 Church representatives and 2 Parent Governor Representatives

Conservative (8)

Roy Brame Philip Duigan Ron Hanton Joe Mooney Judy Oliver Richard Price Alison Thomas

Labour (3)

Emma Corlett Chris Jones Steve Morphew (Ch)

Liberal Democrat (2)

Steffan Aquarone Dan Roper (Spks)

Corporate Select Committee - 13

Conservative (9)

Penny Carpenter Ed Colman Nigel Dixon Colin Foulger Ian Mackie Brian Long Rhodri Oliver Karen Vincent John Ward

Labour (1)

Terry Jermy Chris Jones

Liberal Democrat (1)

John Timewell (Spks)

Independent (1)

Sandra Squire

<u>Proposed Infrastructure and Development Select Committee – 13</u> (Subject to Council's agreement at item 12 on the agenda).

Conservative (8)

Claire Bowes Stuart Clancy Brian Iles Mark Kiddle-Morris Graham Middleton Bev Spratt Barry Stone Vic Thomson Labour (2) Jess Barnard Colleen Walker

Liberal Democrat (2) Tim East Brian Watkins (Spks)

Independent Group (1) To be confirmed

People and Communities Select Committee – 13

Conservative (8)

David Bills Penny Carpenter Ed Connolly Fabian Eagle Shelagh Gurney Thomas Smith Fran Whymark Sheila Young

Labour (3)

Brenda Jones Mike Smith-Clare Chrissie Rumsby

Liberal Democrat (2)

Tim Adams (Spks) David Harrison

Planning (Regulatory) Committee - 13

Conservative (8)

Steven Askew Roy Brame Colin Foulger Brian Iles Brian Long Will Richmond Martin Storey Tony White

Labour (3)

David Collis Danny Douglas Mike Sands

Liberal Democrat (1)

Eric Seward (Spks)

Independent (1)

Mick Castle

Panel of Substitutes for Regulatory Committees - 13

Conservative (8)

David Bills Bev Spratt Vic Thomson

Labour (3)

Chris Jones

Liberal Democrat (1)

David Harrison

Independent (1)

Sandra Squire

OTHER COMMITTEES

Norfolk Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee 8

Conservative (5)

Penny Carpenter Michael Chenery Fabian Eagle Richard Price Sheila Young

Named Substitutes (5)

Roy Brame Ian Mackie Graham Middleton Haydn Thirtle Alison Thomas

Labour (2)

Brenda Jones Chris Jones

Named Substitutes (2)

Julie Brociek-Coulton Emma Corlett

Liberal Democrat (1)

David Harrison (Spks)

Named Substitute (1)

Tim Adams

Audit Committee 7

Conservative (5)

Colin Foulger Ian Mackie Judy Oliver Haydn Thirtle Karen Vincent

Labour (1)

Chris Jones

Liberal Democrat (1)

Ed Maxfield (Spks)

Standards Committee - 7

Conservative (5)

Claire Bowes Mark Kiddle-Morris Graham Middleton John Ward Tony White

Named Substitutes (5)

Ed Colman Alison Thomas Karen Vincent Bev Spratt

Labour (1)

George Nobbs

Named Substitute (1)

Emma Corlett

Liberal Democrat (1)

Sarah Butikofer (Spks)

Named Substitute (1)

Dan Roper

N.B The Standards Committee has agreed to have a panel of named substitutes and Council is asked to appoint to these positions on the same proportionality, i.e 5 Conservative, 1 Labour and 1 Liberal Democrat

Pensions Committee 5

Conservative (3)

Tom FitzPatrick Judy Oliver Martin Storey

Labour (1)

Danny Douglas

Liberal Democrat (1)

Brian Watkins (Spks)

Employment Committee – 7 (to include Leader and Deputy Leader of the Council and the Leader of the majority opposition group)

Conservative (5)

Penny Carpenter Stuart Clancy Ed Colman Graham Plant (VCh) Andrew Proctor (Ch)

Labour (1)

Steve Morphew

Liberal Democrat (1)

Dan Roper (Spks)

SECTION 2

Employment Appeals Panel – 11

When the Panel meets, it has a membership of 3 appointed by the Head of Human Resources and drawn from the wider Panel of 11

Conservative (7)

Tony Adams Bill Borrett Penny Carpenter Colin Foulger Graham Middleton Alison Thomas Tony White

Labour (2)

Emma Corlett George Nobbs

Liberal Democrat (2)

Ed Maxfield Marie Strong (Spks)

Health and Wellbeing Board (3)

- * Cabinet Member for Adults, Public Health and Prevention
- * Cabinet Member for Children and Education
- Leader of the Council or their nominee Stuart Dark

*Statutory member of the Board

SECTION 3

JOINT COMMITTEES

Norfolk Joint Museums Committee – 9

Conservative (6)

Philip Duigan Harry Humphrey Thomas Smith Margaret Stone Martin Storey John Ward

Labour (2)

Julie Brociek-Coulton George Nobbs

Liberal Democrat (1)

David Harrison (Spks)

Norfolk Records Committee – 3

Conservative (2)

Michael Chenery Philip Duigan

Labour (1)

David Rowntree

Eastern Inshore Fisheries Conservation Authority – 3

Conservative (2)

Michael Chenery Tom FitzPatrick

Labour (1)

David Collis

Norfolk Police & Crime Panel – 3

Conservative (2) Labour (0) Liberal Democrat (1)

Conservative Will Richmond Martin Storey

Liberal Democrat Group

Sarah Butikofer

Plus each group has one named substitute

N.B The political group allocations to the Police and Crime Panel are calculated with reference to the requirement for the Panel to be politically balanced based upon the overall political balance of Council seats in Norfolk. The 7 district councils each appoint 1 representative and the County Council makes its 3 appointments to ensure that the overall political balance is achieved. The County Council group allocations to the Panel will be confirmed once the results of the District Council elections have been analysed and District Council appointments to the Panel made.

Transforming Cities Joint Committee - 4

Conservative (2) Martin Wilby (Ch) Barry Stone (VCh)

Labour (1) Steve Morphew

Lib Dem (1) Brian Watkins

Eastern Shires Purchasing Organisation Joint Committee - 2

Conservative (1)

Stuart Clancy (ESPO Finance and Audit Committee and Shareholder representative on the Shareholder Board)

Labour (1)

Mike Smith-Clare

Council is required to appoint 1 of the 2 representatives on the ESPO Management Committee to also be on ESPO's Finance and Audit Committee and 1 of the 2 representatives to be the Shareholder representative on the Shareholder Board.

Norfolk Parking Partnership Joint Committee (1 Member of the Council plus one named substitute)

Martin Wilby Barry Stone (Substitute)

Planning and Traffic Regulation Outside London Joint Committee (1 Member of the Council plus one named substitute)

Tony White Bev Spratt (Substitute)

National Bus Lane Adjudication Committee (1 Member of the Council plus one named substitute)

Tony White Bev Spratt (Substitute)