



Minutes of the Meeting of the Dispensation Sub-Committee Held on Wednesday 19 November 2009

Present:

Mr P Bland Mr P Gibbs - Chairman Mrs J Middleton

1. Apologies

There were no apologies for absence.

2. Election of Chairman

Mr Gibbs was elected Chairman for the meeting.

3. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

4. Consideration of a Request from Members for a Dispensation

The report of the Deputy Monitoring Officer was received.

The Sub-Committee considered individual written requests from 43 Members of the County Council for a dispensation from the rule in the Members' Code of Conduct which prevented them from debating and voting on an item in which they have a prejudicial interest. The dispensation was requested to allow them to speak and vote at the Council Meeting on 23 November 2009 on Item 5, Review of Members' Allowances Scheme 2009 and Item 8, Report on the Cabinet Scrutiny Committee dated 27 October in relation to matters which may relate directly or indirectly to the role or remuneration of twin hatters.

The following points were discussed by the Sub-Committee:

- The number of Members prohibited from voting (more than 50% of Council) would upset the decision making process and furthermore political balance would be upset to the extent that the outcome would be prejudiced if dispensation were not granted.
- A dispensation had been granted previously to all Members of the Council when a similar prejudicial interest arose then it followed that similar arguments applied and it should be granted for these 43
 Members of the Council.

The Sub-Committee decided in light of the above and relevant regulations and guidance that it was prepared to grant dispensation to the following Members of the Council:

Mr Anthony David Adams

Mr Bill Borrett

Mr Alexander James Byrne

Mr James Carswell

Miss Charlotte Casimir

Mrs Marion Chapman-Allen

Michael John Baylis Chenery of Horsbrugh

Mr Stuart Michael Clancy

Mr Gerald Cook

Mr John Dobson

Mr Phillip Duigan

Mr Stuart Dunn

Mr Tim East

Mrs Shelagh Cassandra Gurney

Mr Brian John Hannah

Mr David George Harrison

Mr David Harwood

Mr Jon Herbert

Mr Harry Arthur Sidney Humphrey

Mr Brian John Maxwell Iles

Ms Diana Irving

Mr Cliff Jordan

Mr James Michael Joyce

Mr Mark Kiddle-Morris

Mr Michael Collins Langwade

Mr Stephen Little

Mr Ian James Mackie

Ms Jean Mickleburgh

Mr Ian Alexander Cato Monson

Mr Joe Mooney

Mr Derrick Murphy

Ms Janet Ann Murphy

Mr William Nunn

Mr John Hase Perry-Warnes

Mr John David Rogers

Mr Nigel Christopher Shaw

Mr James Robert Shrimplin

Mr Beverley Herbert Alison Spratt

Ms Ann Steward

Ms Alison Thomas

Mr John Martyn Ward

Mr Anthony Maurice White

Mr Martin Wilby

The dispensation would allow them to speak and vote at the Council Meeting on 23 November 2009 on Item 5, Review of Members' Allowances Scheme 2009 and Item 8, Report on the Cabinet Scrutiny Committee dated 27 October in relation to matters which may relate directly or indirectly to the role or remuneration of twin hatters. The dispensation would be limited to the Council Meeting on 23 November 2009.

The Chairman reminded all Members to go into the debate with an open mind.

The meeting commenced at 11.00am and ended at 11.30am

Chairman

If you need these minutes in large print, audio, Braille, alternative format or in a different language please contact Lesley Rudelhoff Scott on 01603 222963 or Textphone 0844 8008011 and we will do our best to help.